A Short Guide to Daylight Savings in 2019

October is upon us and, that’s right, so is daylight savings! Daylight Savings Time, or DST, means that our clocks will go forward, which allows you one extra hour of daylight each day until we turn our clocks back once more. From now until April next year. As of 2am this Sunday the 6th of October, you will need to put your clocks forward one hour.

In Australia the clocks move forward, but not in all states. If you are living in NSW, ACT, Victoria, South Australia and Tasmania then it is time for you to listen up! Queenslanders, those from Western Australia and the Northern Territory are exempt from the time change that occurs with DST. You may lose an hour of sleep, but you will gain a little extra sunshine each day, which is a nice trade off!

DST was originally introduced by George Hudson in the year 1895. From there it was used in Thunder Bay, Canada in order to make better use of daylight hours. Fast forward to 1916,  when it was first used nationwide, implemented by the German Empire and has been utilised by various countries since. DST is generally not used by countries close to the equator as the sunrise does not vary quite so drastically. Now Australia, along with around 70 other  nations worldwide, uses DST to make the most of our summer as the time of the sunrise changes during the year.

Find out the 2020 daylights savings times and dates here.